2011 NCAA Final Four Field is Set

On Saturday, UConn and Butler punched their tickets to Houston. On Sunday, VCU and Kentucky filled up the last two spots. As long as VCU doesn’t win the championship, for the eighth year in a row, the champion will have blue be its primary color: (2004-UConn, 2005-North Carolina, 2006-Florida, 2007-Florida, 2008-Kansas, 2009-North Carolina, 2010-Duke, 2011-?).

Three of these four teams have been here before…

UConn is appearing in their third Final Four (1999 and 2004) and they’re looking to keep their perfect record alive with their third National Championship.

Butler is appearing in their second straight Final Four and are looking to get their first NCAA championship. They do have two pre-tournament titles (1924, 1929). Butler is the first mid-major ever to make consecutive Final Fours in the expanded bracket era and the first “small school” to go to back to back Final Fours since the University of San Francisco won back to back championships in 1955-1956 (Led by Hall of Famer Bill Russell and coached by Hall of Famer Phil Woolpert).

Kentucky is making its 14th Final Four appearance and first since it last won the NCAA title in 1998. They’re seven time National Champions. Kentucky coach John Calipari is making his first appearance in the Final Four for the third time. His first two appearances were vacated (1996 UMass, 2008 Memphis).

Virginia Commonwealth University is making their first ever Final Four appearance.

Saturday, April 2nd, 2011:
VCU will take on Butler at 6:09 ET
North Carolina will take on UConn at 8:49 ET

Monday, April 4th, 2011:
VCU/Butler vs. Kentucky/UConn at 9:21 ET

All games will take place at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas (where the Texas of the National Football League play).