Wiggins named to Oscar Robertson preseason watch list

On Tuesday, the USBWA announced their list of 15 college basketball players on the preseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Award, given to the best player in college basketball each year.

As expected, Andrew Wiggins was included on the list (full list below).

Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
G Jahii Carson, Arizona State 5-10 180 So. Mesa, Ariz.
G Aaron Craft, Ohio State 6-2 195 Sr. Findlay, Ohio
F C.J. Fair, Syracuse 6-8 215 Sr. Baltimore, Md.
F Aaron Gordon, Arizona 6-9 225 Fr. San Jose, Calif.
G Gary Harris, Michigan State 6-4 210 So. Fishers, Ind.
G Joe Harris, Virginia 6-6 225 Sr. Chelan, Wash.
F Doug McDermott, Creighton 6-8 225 Sr. Ames, Iowa
F Mitch McGary, Michigan 6-10 255 So. Chesterton, Ind.
G Shabazz Napier, Connecticut 6-1 180 Sr. Roxbury, Mass.
F Jabari Parker, Duke 6-8 235 Fr. Chicago, Ill.
C Adreian Payne, Michigan State 6-10 245 Sr. Dayton, Ohio
F Julius Randle, Kentucky 6-9 250 Fr. Dallas, Texas
G Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State 6-4 220 So. Flower Mound, Texas
G Russ Smith, Louisville 6-0 165 Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
G Andrew Wiggins, Kansas 6-8 200 Fr. Vaughan, Ont.
By conference: Big Ten (4), ACC (3), American Athletic (2), Big 12 (2), Pac-12 (2), Big East (1), SEC (1).
By class: Seniors (7), Juniors (0), Sophomores (4), Freshmen (4).

More information on the award:

While these standout players are the initial contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, all NCAA Division I players are eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. For the fifth straight season, the USBWA will present an Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week each Tuesday beginning Dec. 10.

In mid-March, the USBWA will announce its 2013-14 All-America Team and, at that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Tickets and sponsorship information for the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards are available atcollegebasketballawards.com or by contacting Scott Hill (405-749-1515, scott.hill@access-sports.net). The April 14 banquet will also honor the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation’s oldest player of the year award and the only one named after a former player.