Kansas BasketballWiggins

Selden and Wiggins named to USBWA Freshman of the Year Preseason Watch List

On Monday, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association selected Wayne Selden and Andrew Wiggins alongside eight others for its 2014 Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award Preseason Watch List. These are the initial contenders for the national freshman of the year award.

Andrew Wiggins, who was named the USBWA preseason Freshman Player of the Year, joins his teammate Wayne Selden. The list also features four Kentucky Wildcats.

Here is the complete watch list:

Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
G Tyler Ennis, Syracuse 6-2 180 Fr. Brampton, Ont.
F Aaron Gordon, Arizona 6-9 225 Fr. San Jose, Calif.
G Aaron Harrison, Kentucky 6-6 218 Fr. Richmond, Texas
G Andrew Harrison, Kentucky 6-6 215 Fr. Richmond, Texas
G Kasey Hill, Florida 6-1 181 Fr. Eustis, Fla.
F Jabari Parker, Duke 6-8 235 Fr. Chicago, Ill.
F Julius Randle, Kentucky 6-9 250 Fr. Dallas, Texas
G Wayne Selden, Kansas 6-5 230 Fr. Roxbury, Mass.
G Andrew Wiggins, Kansas 6-8 200 Fr. Vaughan, Ont.
G James Young, Kentucky 6-6 215 Fr. Rochester Hills, Mich.
By conference: SEC (5) ACC (2) Big 12 (2), Pac-12 (1).


More on the award from the USBWA:

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU’s Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart became the third winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable previous winners of the national freshman of the year award include Anthony Davis, Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

The Tisdale Award winner will receive a statuette designed by nationally-recognized sculptor Shan Gray. The April 14 banquet will also honor the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.

The late Wayman Tisdale was a three-time USBWA All-American at the University of Oklahoma. Following a stint on the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team, he played 12 seasons in the NBA before retiring in 1997 to focus on a blossoming jazz music career. In March 2007, he was diagnosed with cancer and, following a courageous and difficult battle that included the amputation of his right leg in 2008, he passed away in May 2009.

The Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award is produced by Access Sports, an Oklahoma City-based 501(c)(3) not-for-profit foundation responsible for creating the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award. Access Sports produces all events associated with the award, including the annual awards dinner. Proceeds from the activities affiliated with the award are used to support various worthy charitable causes, including providing opportunities for disadvantaged youth to participate in basketball leagues, clinics, and training throughout the state. In addition, Access Sports supports the Wayman L. Tisdale Foundation which helps fund prosthetics for those who cannot afford the cost on their own and may not be covered by insurance.

4 thoughts on “Selden and Wiggins named to USBWA Freshman of the Year Preseason Watch List

Comments are closed.